System of a Down’s Serj Tankian announces new solo EP, releases “Pop Imperialism” single through AR app

Serjical Strike

System of a Down frontman Serj Tankian has announced a new solo EP.

The five-track collection is titled Perplex Cities and will arrive October 21. It follows Tankian’s 2021 EP, Elasticity.

“This whole collection of songs within Perplex Cities is a completely different sound than what I’ve done before,” Tankian says. “More electronic, subtle and deeper in terms of its layers of presentation musically. Perplex Cities gives off an aura that is unique and unlike my previous releases.”

Along with the EP announcement, Tankian has premiered its opening track, “Pop Imperialism,” exclusively through the free augmented reality app Arloopa. Each of the songs off Perplex Cities will debut on Arloopa ahead of the EP’s release on traditional streaming platforms.

Here’s the Perplex Cities track list:

“Pop Imperialism”
“The Race”
“I Spoke Up”
“Rumi Loves His Cars”
“Forgive Me Father”

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.