Music News

Taylor Hawkins & more guest on Ian Hunter’s new album

M Ianhunterdefiance 012023 0
Sun Records

The late Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins, along with members of Guns N’ Roses, Stone Temple Pilots and more, are among several big-name rockers making a special appearance on Ian Hunter’s newly announced album.

The Mott The Hoople frontman is set to release Defiance Part 1 on April 21, featuring a star-studded list of guests, including Hawkins, Guns N’ Roses’ Slash and Duff McKagan, Metallica’s Robert TrujilloStone Temple Pilots Dean and Robert DeLeo and Eric Kretz, along with the late Jeff BeckDef Leppard’s Joe Elliott, ZZ Top’s Billy F. Gibbons, Aerosmith’s Brad WhitfordWilco’s Jeff TweedyJohnny Depp, Billy Bob Thornton and more. The album is available for preorder now.

“It was a fluke,” Hunter says of his A-list guests. “This was not planned. Really, I’m serious. I really couldn’t believe some of them. I mean, it’s amazing what’s happened. It’s been such a buzz.”

Hawkins appears on three songs on the album: “Angel” also features McKagan and Whitford and has Hawkins playing not only drums, but also electric guitar and electric piano while adding background vocals. He also plays drums on “Kiss N’Makeup,” which features Gibbons and Thornton, and “This Is What I’m Here For,” which features Elliott and others.

Copyright © 2023, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.