Music News

Home » Music News » Slipknot announces new album ‘We Are not Your Kind’

Slipknot announces new album ‘We Are not Your Kind’

Photo by Ben Vogelsang | Idea Machine Productions for 105.7 The Point
Photo by Ben Vogelsang | Idea Machine Productions for 105.7 The Point

Yesterday (May 16th), Slipknot announced their new album We Are Not Your Kind.  The band released the album’s first single “Unsainted” yesterday (May 16th) and unveiled the new video for the song — which featured the group’s new masks. Guitarist Jim Root said about the upcoming project, “This is most time we’ve had to write a record, and work stuff out together. One of my inspirations this time around was those artists that recorded full length albums — not just songs. While the industry is moving toward singles, SLIPKNOT wanted to make an album experience, front to back.”

CHECK IT OUT: Watch “Unsainted”:

Shawn Crahan added, “These days the art we are making comes with the highest reward, because it’s taken the most time. Almost four years to create this emotion and temperature, and the reward now is nothing short of salvation.”

RELATED: Get 4 tickets for $99 to see SLIPKNOT at the Point’s BIG Summer Show on August 18th

Meanwhile, singer Corey Taylor said that the album is dark. He explained, “We are taking some really cool risks musically. We’re dipping into some evil we haven’t played with in a long time, let’s put it that way. It’s got little hints of everything we’ve ever done, but it’s got some of the heaviest stuff we’ve ever done as well.”

Taylor added that the new album touches on his depression which led to his divorce. He explained, “All I was doing was giving and I found myself absolutely, completely tapped. You could see it in my skin. You could see it in my eyes. That’s basically the journey I’m going to take people on this album … show them what happens to depression when you have no chemicals to fall back on.”

We Are Not Your Kind is the sixth album from Slipknot. It is due out on August 9th.

Check out the “We Are Not Your Kind” track listing below:

01. Insert Coin 
02. Unsainted 
03. Birth Of The Cruel 
04. Death Because Of Death 
05. Nero Forte 
06. Critical Darling 
07. Liar’s Funeral 
08. Red Flag 
09. What’s Next 
10. Spiders 
11. Orphan 
12. My Pain 
13. Not Long For This World 
14. Solway Firth

Story Source: Blabbermouth


  • Slipknot is headlining the “Knotfest Roadshow” tour this summer North America.
  • Special guests VolbeatGojira and Behemoth will join Slipknot in tour. 
  • Slipknot will perform on Jimmy Kimmel tonight (May 17th).

Concert Calendar

Jun 3
Jun 5
Jun 6