Music News

Matt Maeson details sophomore album, ’Never Had to Leave’

Neon Gold/Atlantic

Matt Maeson has announced the details of his sophomore album.

The follow-up to 2019’s Bank on the Funeral, which spawned the singles “Cringe” and “Hallucinogenics,” is titled Never Had to Leave and arrives August 26.

“The reason I make music is I want my songs to help people feel justified in whatever they’re feeling, especially if they’re going through hard times,” says Maeson. “When I was 17 I started performing in prisons as part of my parents’ prison ministry, and I realized what music could do as far as helping people feel dignified and less alone.”

“It was a way of bringing light into one of the darkest possible places, and right away I knew I wanted to do that for everyone,” he adds. “Keeping that in mind has always motivated me to write as honestly as possible, without filtering anything out.”

Never Had to Leave includes the previously released single “Blood Runs Red” and the song “Nelsonwood Lane.” A third cut, titled “A Memory Away,” is out Friday via digital outlets.

Maeson will play a run of acoustic shows in July. He’ll launch a full, electric tour in support of Never Had to Leave in September.

Here’s the Never Had to Leave track list:

“Blood Runs Red”
“Never Had to Leave”
“Cut Deep”
“Lonely as You”
“Cry Baby”
“Nelsonwood Lane”
“Twisted Tongue”
“Waltz Right In”
“A Memory Away”
“My Hand/Lawless Dream”

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.