Music News

News > Music News > Nine Inch Nails unveils new song, five-track EP coming next week

Nine Inch Nails unveils new song, five-track EP coming next week

Photo by  Andrew Chin/FilmMagic | Getty Images

Nine Inch Nails will release a new five-song EP titled Add Violence on Friday, July 21st. The outfit, which consists primarily of founder Trent Reznor and longtime collaboratorAtticus Ross, have issued the first track from the set, called "Less Than," an uptempo tune that starts with an almost cheerful synthesizer before giving way to abrasive guitars.

Add Violence is the second of three EPs that Nine Inch Nails is releasing at roughly six-month intervals. The first one, Not The Actual Events, came out last December. No release date or title has been announced yet for the third and final EP.

  • Speaking about the EPs on Beats One Radio on Thursday (July 13th), Reznor said, "I love the format of an album. I like having 40 minutes to 90 minutes to communicate a grand suite of songs that relate to each other and have something to say beyond the single song serving."
  • He continued, "But we were thinking about the amount of time it takes to do that and a bit of awareness about what it’s like as a fan with so much choice . . . we thought it might be interesting to split the record up into three parts that come out and have their own moment of attention -- each of which are stylistically a bit different."
  • Reznor added that when all three EPs are out, they will tell a "singular story."
  • The last full-length NIN album, Hesitation Marks, came out in 2013.
  • Nine Inch Nails will begin a string of live shows on July 23rd at the FYF Fest in Los Angeles, with Reznor saying that the band's new live show will be "anti-technology."


SIDE NOTES: The track list of Add Violence is:
1. "Less Than" 
2. "The Lovers"
3. "This Isn't the Place"
4. "Not Anymore"
5. "The Background World"


CHECK IT OUT: Listen to "Less Than"

Related articles

Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong’s new band The Longshot have surprise-released their debut album, Love Is For Losers, along with a music video...
Photo by Beats 1 on Apple Music via YouTube Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich interviewed Tool , A Perfect Circle and...
Jack White kicked off his first full tour in three years with a hometown show in Detroit on Thursday night (April 19th), in which he reaffirmed his connection...
Mastodon drummer Brann Dailor and guitarist Bill Kelliher recently went to Washington D.C. to show their support for the Music Modernization Act...