Point: Music New Alternative Nightly

Point Music News
Point Music News provided by Pulse

How much Phoenix is enough? Apparently the band thinks its fans want plenty, since the deluxe edition of their new album, Bankrupt!, will contain 71 -- that's right, 71 -- bonus tracks. According to NME, the huge collection of "demos and sketches" will amount to more than an hour of extra material. Some of the tracks are under a minute long, with one cut called "Aristotle" clocking in at one second.

Phoenix bass player Deck D'Arcy told us not long ago that most of the band's songs are written in a very stripped-down fashion: "We basically work around the table with acoustic guitar and small keyboards and stuff like this, and we record everything with a small recorder we love and we collect all those kind of little pieces, and we put them together and do songs like that."

Bankrupt! will be released on April 23rd in North America, with the disc surfacing internationally one day earlier. The first single is "Entertainment."

The record follows up 2009's Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix. That CD was the French group's first commercial success in the U.S. and featured the hit singles "1901" and "Lisztomania."

Phoenix will kick off a North American tour in support of the new album on March 28th in Vancouver, Canada, which will culminate in a headlining slot at California's Coachella Music & Arts Festival in mid-April.

The group will also be the featured musical act on the April 6th edition of NBC's Saturday Night Live, guest-hosted by Identity Thief star Melissa McCarthy.

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel
Point Shows