Point: Music New Alternative Nightly

Point Music News
Point Music News provided by Pulse

The Smashing Pumpkins release their first new album in five years, titled Oceania, on Tuesday (June 19th). Although the material is part of the Pumpkins' in-progress 44-song cycle, Teargarden By Kaleidyscope, frontman Billy Corgan told us why he decided to carve Oceania out as its own album: "We decided to release Oceania as a standalone project because we'd been doing a song at a time as part of the Teargarden By Kaleidyscope project, and we found that because of the voracious nature of the Internet, our songs were being swallowed up so fast that people didn't even know that they'd come out. So when we looked at it, we said, what can we do that will garner at least some length of attention? An album of course would do that, at least for that one hour hopefully." Oceania follows up 2007's comeback album Zeitgeist and is the first Pumpkins record to feature the current lineup of Mike Byrne on drums, Nicole Fiorentino on bass and Jeff Schroeder on guitar. Corgan recently blasted the members of the original Pumpkins in an interview with NME, calling ex-drummer Jimmy Chamberlin "a f***ing liar" and guitarist James Iha "one of the worst human beings I've ever met in my life." The Pumpkins have yet to announce tour plans behind the new disc, although they are expected to tour the U.S. this fall.

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel
Point Shows