Point: Music New Alternative Nightly

Point Music News
Point Music News provided by Pulse

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have unveiled the details about how they will release 18 new songs left over from the sessions for 2011's I'm With You. Each of the songs will be available worldwide both digitally and on vinyl, with two songs per seven-inch disc. The first pair of tracks -- "Strange Man" on the A-side and "Long Progression" on the B-side -- will be released on August 14th, 2012. The second pair -- "Magpies" and "Victorian Machinery" -- will come out on September 11th, 2012. The third pair of sides - "Never Is A Long Time" and "Love Of Your Life" -- arrives on October 2nd. The fourth, fifth and sixth pairs will show up on November 6th, December 4th and December 18th respectively, with the final two releases coming in early 2013.Each of the nine seven-inches released will be able to be combined by fans to create one larger piece of artwork done by Kelsey Brookes.Chili Peppers guitarist Josh Klinghoffer said in a statement, "Finding songs that seem to want to join hands with others is a special task . . . Some songs play well with others and some songs need more attention and a little extra care. Here are some songs that seemed to want to pair up and take a later train."Bassist Flea recently tweeted that the band has "been writing stuff while touring," although it does not seem that any of that material will make it out as part of this series.The band is in the midst of an extensive world tour which brings them to Europe for most of the summer, although they'll return to headline Lollapalooza in Chicago on August 4th.

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel
Point Shows